Bail Bond Confessions Blog

What will next week hold? | September 25, 2010

Things have been exceedingly slow, yet again.  I’m at 10 clients currently.  My last one was a $100 fee, so its not like I’m exactly rolling in it.  I have a potential client who is turning herself in on a drug charge next week.  Not sure if she will even get a Surety bond of if the judge will just give a 10% option.

Our bail bond association is in complete disarray and I’ve been approached to see if I was interested in serving on the board. I’m thinking it isn’t worth my time since the association only represents maybe 10% of the bondsman in our state.  The rest have no interest in paying dues and honestly, the association has no income and thus no power.  It’s mainly a tool for a few old timer’s to get their own legislation and special interests passed, though they are ineffective at even doing that. Also, none of them ever listen to me when I voice my opinion.  I mean literally, they turn away from me, talk over me, and start other conversations.

Finally, one of my clients still owes me $800 on his original $1,200 debt.  He ducks my calls whenever I try to contact him, avoids answering the door, and does not check in on a weekly basis the way he is supposed to.  The last time I talked to him, I offered to make him a deal:  I can hold off on collecting the $800 until he has paid off his attorney (he’s a referral), as long as he promises to check in each week and agrees to pay an additional $50 fine for each week that he misses.  So far he missed the first one and has not made himself available to sign updated paperwork.  I called his attorney last week and explained the situation and we will see what happens.  If he misses another check in, I don’t know what to do.  Call his employer?  Call his brother (out of work indemnitor)?  Mail him notice via certified mail and then revoke his bond if it comes back unreturned?

Ideas?  Suggestions?

-bbc

3 Comments »

  1. Revoke his bond. He had his chance. There is only so much you can or need to do for someone like this.

    Comment by Bill — September 25, 2010 @ 7:06 pm

  2. My girlfriend is in lubbock county jail, and I havent heard a damn thing about what is going on, I am in Dallas so I cant get there to findout what is going on, and she doesnt know anything either except her court date is next month. We dont even know if there is a bond for her, so I get what you have talking about.

    Comment by Bill — September 25, 2010 @ 7:09 pm

  3. I messed up on my email adress. I fixed here.

    Comment by Bill — September 25, 2010 @ 7:10 pm


Leave a Reply

