Bail Bond Confessions Blog

Good days starting to outnumber bad ones | March 10, 2010

Lots to report here!  I’ve been sick, busy, and sick, and busy all over again.

The $25,000 guy I bonded out a few weeks ago has had an update.  Everyone involved in his case agrees that the charges have been dropped in exchange for his agreeing to move out of state.  Well, everyone but the Court.  I’m waiting for the paperwork to go through and I’ve even confirmed it with the investigator on the case, but the Court doesn’t have any record of it.  Court is on the 29th so it’s going to be a race to see if the paperwork goes thru before a bench warrant.  As far as I know, my client has moved out of state.

I got a small bond on Monday.  It was a referral from one of the professors of one of my college project teams.  That was nice. Stupid bullshit charges like driving uninsured, no license, incorrect plates.  No biggie and I netted like $100.

Today, I got a call from one of the first attorneys I tried networking with.  He has a client that got turned himself in on a CDV warrant.  It is a “He said/She said” situation with an alleged “psycho ex-girlfriend” that won’t leave him alone and broke into his house more than once.  I heard the attorney’s side and offered a good deal, 8% on a $30,000 bond with half up front and monthly payments for 6 months.  I picked up the fee and filed the paperwork. Again, there was some stupid red tape crap to deal with since this was a city charge (city shares jail with the county).  I filed the papers at 1pm, client wasn’t released until nearly 7pm!  As I was leaving the court after filing the papers, I get a call from the indemnitor.  The client was on a $5,000 bond with another company (a large well established firm).  That company heard he was in jail and threatened the indemnitor with revoking the bond unless they did the $30,000 bond! Words were said.  I gave the indemnitor my two cents.  He calls back a few minutes later.  He talked with the other company again and they realized that the deal was done, so now they told him if he pays them an additional fee, they will stay on the bond.

I was furious.  I called the DOI and reported the situation, but understandably it is heresy on my part.  The DOI regulator told me to have my client and/or the indemnitor file a complaint with him directly so he can investigate.

In our state, what they did was borderline illegal, but extremely bad manners and crappy business practices.  By law, they are allowed to revoke the bond. By getting arrested again, it is clear that my client violated the terms of his bond.  However, trying to strong arm them into using them for future service and even demanding more money to stay on the bond is clearly extortion. This is a company thats been in business for over 30 years and the principals are getting up there.  I don’t know if it is willful on their part or if they aren’t keeping a close eye on their employees, but it is just wrong.  While he violated a condition of his bond, there has been no material change in his risk to show up to court.

My client now has a bail revocation hearing on Monday.  His attorney is pretty confident that he can convince the judge to make the company stay on his bond.  I told him that if he can’t, I’ll give him a sweetheart deal and let him finance the payments.  I figure around 5%.

The one thing about this business that I struggle with is taking advantage of people when they are down. Sure, I could use the money, but the dude already paid 10% on his $5,000 bond. Now, just because the company he choose wants to be a jerk about it, he may have to pay me a fee on the same darn thing. It feels wrong for me to take advantage of the situation.

As I explained to my new clients today:  If you provide good service at a fair price, business takes care of itself.

-bbc

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

