Bail Bond Confessions Blog

Yesterday sucked | March 2, 2010

Yesterday afternoon I got a call from an upset woman, lets call her Rae.  It became pretty clear that she was pretty poor and that her fiancée has been locked up for over a month on a criminal domestic violence charge.  It was a small bond, the standard 10% fee would only be $215, but she didn’t have it.

My choice is usually to avoid these types of cases because they tend to have so many complications.  But Rae was willing to pay the 10% as long as it was on a payment plan and she was so upset and desperate…She insisted that he never laid a hand on her, it was just a verbal threat and that she called the cops. She also told me that she’s asked for the case to be dropped.

I’m a sucker and I agreed to bond him out.  I met her at her house which is in a very sketchy part of town and she filled out the paperwork. She explained that part of the reason why she needs him out is because it is dangerous to live there alone. She then arranged a ride (she doesn’t own a car) to an ATM. She paid me part of the fee and I went on my way to the jail. She and her ride went to get some dinner and would pick the guy up at the jail later.

I get to the jail and start the paperwork to bond him out.  Just as I’m finishing up, I see that the judge put a clause in there that the guy can’t have any direct or indirect contact with Rae!

Crap.  I have to leave my cell phone in the car, so I trekked back out to the car in the parking lot and I try to call her, but the only number I have is a house number and she wasn’t home.  It’s like 6pm and I haven’t eaten dinner yet.  I call home and let them know the situation.  I wait a few minutes and call Rae again, no answer.  I think it through and decide I’m not going to bond the guy out.

As soon as I shut the door on my car, I realize I’ve locked the keys in there. Along with my paperwork and cell phone.  I didn’t need the paperwork since I’m not doing the bond and I didn’t really need the cell phone, but damn, I needed the keys!  I go inside and explain the problem to the front desk.  Then I go to the court and let them know I’m not doing the bond.  The front desk was going to arrange for one of the deputies to help break into my car, but I blinked and it was shift change and the front desk lady left and the deputy never arrived.

I asked the replacement, but she didn’t know anything about it. So she calls her supervisor and they tell me to call AAA.  Great, except my AAA card is attached to my key chain!  I wheedle a local call out of them and call home.  It takes hours between the baby, the dogs, and the fact that they’ve never been to the jail before, but eventually someone is able to bring me the spare key.  I paid in spades for that one!

Meanwhile, while I waited and waited, eventually Rae shows up. I explained the situation to her and she isn’t happy.  Heck, she can’t even understand why the condition is there since she’s been to the jail twice in the past few weeks to visit the guy and they allowed physical contact.  I told her that if she can get the judge to remove the condition, I would do the bond.  She tries to speak to the judge and instead is directed to a victim advocate (VA).  The VA has her write a letter to the judge, but she’s told that the same judge has to make the decision and he isn’t in and they don’t know when he will be back.

Yes, the NPR story was wrong, but this is clearly a case where being poor is a disadvantage.  If she could have afforded an attorney, they could have gotten this all resolved weeks ago.

She called me late last night and said she had a friend that would sign for him and he would stay at the friend’s house.  She had an address, but she didn’t have a name or number for the friend.  This time, I stuck to my guns and told her I’m sorry, but I just couldn’t help her.

I feel bad, but I am not going to bond someone out when I know the whole point of getting him out will cause him to directly violate a judge’s conditions. I don’t make the rules, but I do follow them.  Yet, this is definitely not a case for PTI as the guy was on his second CDV charge and he has been convicted of some other minor crimes (shoplifting, bad checks, simple assault) in the past.

-bbc

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

