Bail Bond Confessions Blog

48 min. and a pounding headache | November 13, 2009

Last night, I got a call from a dude in jail.  This was a new name, he has around $8k in charges.  Like most everyone that calls me from jail, I know that I’m not his first choice and the he is shopping around.  I told him the best I could do was 50% up front and payments, but that I would need collateral on the $8k. This guy must not have heard me right because he was all excited and was like “My brother has the collateral, call him and he’ll get me out!”.  I called and left a message for the brother and didn’t hear anything.

Tonight, I get a phone call from the guy in jail.  I ignore it.  I get another one.  I ignore it.  He calls over and over and over again.  Finally, he switches tactics, instead of giving his name, he says “call my brother” “He has the collateral”  “his number is xxx-xxxx”.  After that one, I call the brother.  The brother had just gotten home from visitation.  He tells me that the dude in jail told him I said I would let him out for $100 + his car title as collateral.

I explained that it isn’t the case.  I was honest with the brother and he had lots of questions.  I answered them and let him talk a bit.  I learned quite a bit more about he guy in jail, his previous record and personal problems.  I told the brother I couldn’t compete on the price other bondsman were giving, but I could offer better service.  I could try to help the guy in jail get into substance abuse programs, etc.  This struck a strong cord with the brother.

It took nearly an hour, but by the end of the conversation, I would say that there is around a 50% chance that I might actually see this business (which is worth approximately $800) if and when the brother gets the down payment money together.

 

 

 

 

Otherwise, I just wasted an hour of my life.

-bbc

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

