Bail Bond Confessions Blog

Zeb update and a new story | November 2, 2009

I bailed out Zeb the other day.  I guess it took about 6 weeks, but when the judge decided to push his court date back another 3 weeks, he and his girl Genevieve decided it was time to get out.

 


 

I’ve run into an unrelated situation that I’m unsure how to help with. The parents are both religious leaders and the son is in jail on a repeat offense of driving under suspension.  It isn’t anything serious, but the son just won’t get his act together. Typical story about hanging with the wrong crowd, etc etc.  The problem is that the parents can’t seem to get through to the son that he needs to get his life together. They’re thinking that keeping him in jail might be the way to teach him a lesson.  Part of me agrees, but at the same time, realizes that keeping him jail just keeps him interacting with people worse than him that might teach him stuff that will get him in deeper the next time.

I’m getting ready to become a parent myself and am worried about how I would deal with this if it was my kid.  What is the proper technique or response here?  How do you help someone get off the downward spiral if they don’t want to help themselves?

-bbc

2 Comments »

  1. As a parent and a bail bondsman, I’d get him out. I don’t think that jails are Mayberry. I do think especially young ones learn new tricks. Unfortunately, sounds like that one is going to have to learn the hard way at some point. I’d also do what they are assumedly doing: pray.

    Comment by Tonya Rynerson — November 3, 2009 @ 6:39 pm

  2. Well if he is in for a few days, that would seem to be punishment enough. Keeping him there for a few weeks would accomplish any more of a “lesson”, IMHO.

    Comment by mickdog — November 4, 2009 @ 2:29 am


Leave a Reply

