Bail Bond Confessions Blog

Lost another bond | October 7, 2009

For over a week, I’ve been working on two different bonds. One guy is in for check fraud and the other is in for a variety of problems.  The best deal I can offer the variety guy is $500 up front and weekly payments of $75 for 12 weeks. The problem is that his family and friends can’t come up with the $500. Even his grandmother is refusing to part with $70.  Meanwhile, the guy calls me 5-6 times a day trying to get me to allow him to 3-way call his friends and family to twist their arms into getting him out. I’ve taken on a small percentage of his calls, but even so, I figure I’ve spent over $50 on him. I told him I wouldn’t accept any more of his calls until I hear from his family that they have the money.

The other fellow had to come up with $230, but he couldn’t get his family to do it either.  I talked to him a little less and figured around $30 worth of collect calls. Then, yesterday he tells me he got time served on all but one charge, which would bring his bond fee down to $30.  I told him that I would work with his family and try to get him out first thing in the morning (time served as of Midnight) and that I wouldn’t answer any more calls from him since it’s $3 a call and I’m only making $30.  No problem, right? Even then, he still calls like 12 more times and I ignored the call (mistake?).  I still couldn’t get his mom and brother on the same page to sign paperwork last night (he wasn’t a 1st time offender) and pay $30.  I don’t know what they were thinking, but the mom called me this morning asking why her son was still in jail.

Every time I talk to her, I have to explain the situation.  Then she says she understands, but clearly she doesn’t or why would she have to ask each time? Anyway, I set an appointment time to meet her after lunch (I was meeting with an attorney at lunch to see if I can drum up more business) and collect the fee and signatures.  Just after lunch as I was driving to her house, she called and said that her nephew went to a competitor of mine and bailed him out!

So now I’ve got almost no prospects again and a high Paytel bill to pay.  Great.

3 Comments »

  1. Ok, you probably realize by now that the whole 3-way thing is scamming you. The defendant just wants to connect with his family on your dime – or your $30 in this case! Not sure what state you’re in, but in California, the 3-way is illegal in many jurisdictions.

    Here’s what I do: I’ll take your ___ (mom, brother, etc)’s phone number. If they want to bail you out, I’ll do it. Otherwise, I’m sorry. That leaves you on the phone with them for 5 minutes at the outrageous rate (10 if they’re a talker).

    Hope that’s helpful!

    Comment by Tonya Rynerson — October 12, 2009 @ 10:51 pm

    • I’ve been doing a variation on this, but I’ll try your way a few times and see if that works better. I’m quickly learning that anyone I have to spend more than a day on to get out of jail is a lost cause.

      -bbc

      Comment by bailbondconfessions — October 13, 2009 @ 9:09 am

      • Amen! Unless, of course, it’s over $100,000 – Give them a couple of days 😉

        Comment by Tonya Rynerson — October 15, 2009 @ 10:53 am


Leave a Reply

