Bail Bond Confessions Blog

London calling | September 18, 2009

So the phone rang off the hook yesterday.  I guess I’m only posted in one jail so far, but it probably cost me a small fortune in collect calls just answering yesterday.  Got to the point where I had to start ignoring calls. Why is that?

Well, since I’m the “new number” posted, I was getting calls from every guy thats been in there for months and months and have no chance of getting out. They all want to convince me to let them out since no one else will bond them out.

I’m hoping that will calm down some over the next few days. I really am concerned at the mounting costs of these collect calls. The jails have a real racket going on.  Minimum is $2.60 for a call up to $18 per call.  It depends on the jail, the distance, and who knows what else.

I thought I might have some good stories to relate, but they are all the same. Inmate calls, inmate tries to scam me into letting him out, inmate is disappointed.

-bbc

2 Comments »

  1. Yup, those jail calls only work out about 10% of the time. And they are really expensive. You’ll also get the guys who want you to three-way you with someone. Really they just want to chat on your dime. They know there’s no chance of bail.

    Comment by Tonya Rynerson — September 18, 2009 @ 2:20 pm

  2. Yeah, I’m running into that. $32 in calls yesterday and probably another $12 today so far and nothing to show for it. What do you do? Ignore the calls?

    -bbc

    Comment by bailbondconfessions — September 18, 2009 @ 2:31 pm


Leave a Reply

