Bail Bond Confessions Blog

Happy Labor Day! | September 7, 2009

My license and contact info was submitted to four local jails last week. So far, no phone calls have come in. I’m waiting on three more powers that will allow me to submit into three more counties.  Should get them some time tomorrow. Unfortunately, it is $100/county.  That isn’t a heck of a lot to spend on very well targeted advertising, however, it does add up when you don’t have any income. Meanwhile, I have a large stack of blank applications and a small stack of blank bonds.

While I was at one of the jails, a man who had had a newsworthy DUI was receiving guests.  On my way out, I chatted up one of the guests who was also leaving and asked if the guy in jail was going to get bailed out.  From the media reports, I knew that his bail amount was set very high.  The friend said they didn’t know and I told him I was a bondsman and let him know that I would be happy to help if possible.  He asked what I would charge, so I quoted him.  That was my second mistake.  He didn’t like that answer very much (it was 10% of a very large number) and so I gave him a card and we went our seperate ways. That was the third mistake.

What were the mistakes and why?

1) I forgot that it was illegal to “solicit” business in front of the jail.  I have to be very VERY careful of this in the future.  It is not my intention to break the law and I very honestly forgot about that regulation in moment.

2) When quoting a price to a potential client, I shouldn’t just blurt out the number.  I should feel them out and indicate that it is negotiable.

3) I shouldn’t let the potential client walk away without at least attempting to get their contact info.

I am only now starting to realize just how slippery a slope it is in trying to maintain a professional and ethical practice in this business.  Learning experiences.

-bbc

2 Comments »

  1. Good lessons for a first time out. When someone asks me the rate, I always answer that bail is regulated (in CA by the Dept of Insurance) and that the rate is set. Further, I let the client know that it would be illegal for me to charge other than the standard rate and I add that I’m sure the defendant already has enough problems and wouldn’t want to do business illegally with a bondsman. It definately lightens the blow.

    Comment by Tonya Rynerson — September 7, 2009 @ 10:48 pm

  2. Thanks, that is good advice. Got anymore?

    -bbc

    Comment by bailbondconfessions — September 9, 2009 @ 8:06 am


Leave a Reply

